Town Hall Administration

The Town of Swanzey is governed by Official Ballot form of Town Meeting (SB 2) and a three member elected Board of Selectmen. Generally, voters meet annually to deliberate, set the annual operating budget, and review other expenditures and ordinances. Following the Town’s deliberative session portion of the Town, which is usually the first Tuesday in February, voting on Town and school district warrant articles and the election of officers takes place at the Town voting day, scheduled for the second Tuesday in March. Under state law, the Board of Selectmen is the Town’s governing body and is charged to “manage the prudential affairs of the town,” including carrying out the actions approved by Town Meeting.  The Board of Selectmen typically meets Wednesday nights at 5:30 p.m. at Town Hall and is supported by the Town Administrator, who is the Town’s chief administrative officer and oversees the Town government’s day to day operations. 

Elected Sewer Commissioners oversee operation of the Town’s waste water treatment plant, located in the village of West Swanzey. Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment members address land use matters such as subdivisions, commercial and multi-family projects, special exceptions and variances. Elected officials’ meeting schedules are posted on the Town calendar. Staff can supply information about getting on the agendas of boards and commissions.

Swanzey Town Hall 
620 Old Homestead Highway (Route 32)

Mailing Address:
PO Box 10009
Swanzey, NH 03446

Hours:
Monday 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday - Thursday 8:30 a.m to 5 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Telephone: (603) 352-7411
Fax: (603) 352-6250
NH Relay TDD 1-800-735-2964

Town Hall Staff
Michael T. Branley, Town Administrator
352-7411, Ext. 107 
mbranley@swanzeynh.gov

Jenna Fraunfelder, Administrative Assistant
352-7411, Ext. 115
jfraunfelder@swanzeynh.gov

Ron Fontaine, Town Clerk
352-7411, Ext. 102 
rfontaine@swanzeynh.gov

Ashley Patnode, Deputy Town Clerk
352-7411, Ext. 101 
apatnode@swanzeynh.gov

Melissa Castor, Tax Collector
352-7411, Ext. 112
mcastor@swanzeynh.gov

Kevin Westcott, Deputy Tax Collector
352-7411, Ext. 109
kwestcott@swanzeynh.gov

Michelle Talbot, Sewer Administrative Assistant 
352-7411 Ext. 104
mtalbot@swanzeynh.gov

Matthew Bachler, Director of Planning & Economic Development
352-7411, Ext. 108
mbachler@swanzeynh.gov

Mike Jasmin, Code Enforcement Officer
352-7411, Ext. 105 
code@swanzeynh.gov

Edna Coates, Human Services & Resources Coordinator
352-7411, Ext. 110 
ecoates@swanzeynh.gov

Theresa Lounder, Finance Director
352-7411, Ext. 111 
tlounder@swanzeynh.gov

Lisa Gillum, Finance Office Assistant
352-7411, Ext. 106 
lgillum@swanzeynh.gov

Christine Smith, Assessing Coordinator
352-7411, Ext 114 
csmith@swanzeynh.gov
Stay

Updated with us

SIGN UP TO GET UPDATES FROM THE TOWN